Why can’t we just be nice to each other?

I’m going to try and keep this short because dwelling on negativity really doesn’t make my life get any better. 

But seriously, I really don’t understand why nowadays, on social media, there is so much hostility and hatred toward people you have never even met. AKA. total strangers. Many people make mean, rude comments, and sneer at one another, at “strangers”

It had never been easier in this day and age to unfriend, unfollow, block, or just simply walk away when you encounter something or someone you strongly dislike. Social media has made ending relationships as fast and painlessly as it could possibly be. 

I mainly use social media to share who I am, what I think, what I do. One thing though, I don’t fake who I am. Another golden rule of mine is, always stay away from other people’s businesses and dramas. I see no point to keep engaging when there is negativity and ill intention. There are millions of things in life to do – many more useful, interesting, and fun things. 

But sometimes hostility from “strangers” came find me, and that boggled my mind. 

I know it’s their problems, it’s not mine. In fact, I try to view these people as they have mental illness; they get joy out of snapping at and being rude to others, just because things are made easier online with no confrontation. They can get away with it very easily, hiding behind their screens. 

What is wrong with being nice to each other, though? I can’t help wondering. This simple social manner and etiquette seem to be ignored easily when it comes to online world. It makes me sad, you guys. But it is what it is. 

Leave a Reply

