“Live boldly. Push yourself. Don’t settle. Just live well. Just LIVE.”

Oh how I hate Will Traynor’s last letter in Me Before You, how it had an effect of making me weep and sob for the last two pages of the book, and again at the end of the movie. 

I read this book in 2014 (Amazon purchase history, not my memory, mind you) and just got to see this movie tonight. It still held that effect on me; when a good book leaves you with some thoughts to contemplate long after you finish reading it. The key message of the story still rings true after I walked out of the cinema. 

Despite the fact that this is such a soap opera cliched plot; how a rich, handsome man initially looks down on a poor woman who is his care taker, how he places himself high above everyone with such arrogance that makes you wanna slap him in the face, how he is extremely bossy and likes to place orders and so on, I try to overlook that and see how amazing it can be when someone encourages you to take more risks, makes you try new things in life, and broadens your horizon. 

My friend once smirked at me and said, wow, why would you need a man to make you a better you? Can’t you do that yourself? Of course I can. I’m always trying to improve myself to be better anyway. But it feels extraordinary when, once in a while your path can be crossed with someone, and they challenge your worldview and push yourself to see things differently, shading some new lights in your life, and you will have changed for the better, becoming a more well-rounded person. At least it is for me, when I am aware how I can be independent with my own thoughts and how I do things. If someone can challenge me to do and see things a little differently, that feels quite special and they do earn my respect as it is one of the most rewarding experiences. 

The book, and once again the movie, just reminded me to keep going, try new things, and in general just live. 

I’ve thought all of this on the drive home late night after the movie. Not exactly the earth-shattering discovery kind of blog post – more like I want to document some thoughts to re-read later. I’ve discovered recently that I do enjoy late night drive alone on weekends, with light traffic on familiar roads, such a private and precious time to spend with yourself and your own thoughts, with your favorite playlist accompanying you home. It feels good. 

Leave a Reply

