On positivity 

I had the urge to write a quick update after I went back and reread this Solitary blog post at the very beginning of 2017. Gosh, that IS way too bleak! I feel embarrassed now that I did write all that. But it’s almost an unwritten rule that you will always feel embarrassed by what you wrote in the past. 

2017, so far my outlook has changed for the better! 

Of course, there are ups and downs in life, as expected. In fact, the first 2 months of 2017 was a bit of emotional whirlwind. Fortunately, it was resolved quite quickly and I did not dwell on it at all. Then again got thrown into another type of emotional whirlwind in March. But once again I managed to get through it. 

What has changed is: at the moment I tend (and from time to time, try) to take things as they are with no expectation (Or as less as I can possibly manage. Still struggling from time to time, but hey, I’m only human, aren’t I?). Welcoming a neutral, realistic, and perhaps a bit more relaxing approach in life. 

I no longer feel like I lost faith in love anymore. SO happy for that! Safe to say that time heals and I have finally fully recovered, which is a great feeling. At the same time, it doesn’t mean I look at love with bright and hopeful eyes like 10 years ago either. Love comes in different shapes and forms, and people are flawed and so different from one another. You really have to stay open-minded and get to know a person as who/what they are. There is no one-size-fit-all definition of love and relationship. I am definitely more positive than last year, but also have my feet firm on the (realistic) ground as ever. 

Also don’t think too much about HOW the future will be if I end up being alone. It is always a good idea to plan things in advance, especially financially. But there is no point to fret over it as I’ve chosen to be extremely picky of who I let in my life. If being alone makes me happier than letting the wrong person in, then it is what it is! This is my decision. 

Somehow I’ve become even surer of what I want and look for in a relationship, and I won’t settle for anything less. Failed enough to finally know what I want, perhaps! You learn from your past experiences. In the meantime, it is great to be exposed to new people and just see how it goes. You could learn and pick up something from them, and to me it’s interesting that way. 

Learning to enjoy the journey and trust the process more. As always, the future is uncertain! 🙂 

One Reply to “On positivity ”

Leave a Reply

