Ko Lanta Solo Travel (Part 2): Yoga by the sea

Continuing from my previous post, I’m really in the mood of writing and documenting stuff on this trip! I just finished working on some freelance stuff, might as well continue typing it away while I’m at it.

Love that I eat tons of fruit here! I don’t eat healthy at all at home. This is a really nice change and I can feel it’s good for my body too!

Originally I planned to hit it hard for CrossFit today, but didn’t feel like it at all this morning. I wasn’t extremely sore, but didn’t feel 100% for some reason and was in the mood of something with a slower pace. No problem, yoga it was then!

It was so lovely. Yoga in an open air in a little Sala overlooking the sea was incredibly soothing. You focus on your breathing and posture while listening to birds chirping and gentle sea waves. I haven’t done yoga for at least 4 years and am really not a yoga person at all. Tried hot yoga at Absolute yoga years ago, and I felt it was too slow and not for me. This time, however, I felt pretty amazing. It was so private as there were only 3 of us, and the environment and everything just felt so right. We did Ashtanga and Vinyasa (I think). Oh dear, only a few rounds of Sun Salutation made me sweat like crazy! How come all these slow movements got you sweat like a cardio! Incredible.

I’m not flexible at all and I felt my body was quite tight. Our yoga teacher, Kru Thip, used to do CrossFit for 2 years and she understands me. She said lifting weight made your body really tight which isn’t good (mental note to research on this afterwards). Yoga is an entirely different movement and focus in your body. Found it really funny when she tried to re-arrange my body and said, stop squeezing your glutes, it’s not a hip thrust, use your inner thigh instead!

The rest of the day was pretty random and relaxing. I was walking around everywhere, even in the afternoon heat and I felt my back was burning. Long beach stretched over 3 km long (or maybe longer), so I kept walking along the beach, be in the afternoon or evening before sunset. I love the feeling of the waves touching my feet. Not sure how to describe it, but it’s definitely one of my favorite feelings.

When I stopped at a beach bar for an happy hour to watch a sunset, it just hit me that I was so, so wrong about this trip. I really should have come here for at least A WEEK! Everything about this trip is exactly what I need in a holiday. This is a real holiday, not the kind of holiday you want another holiday to recover from it. Ko Lanta trip did make every cell in my body relax and learn to enjoy simple, beautiful things in life. Can you ever get tired of watching sunset on the beach? I wonder. This alone is more than enough. I definitely should do this more often. Pick some island in Thailand and just go by myself. Save money enough to splurge and live comfortably on an island a bit, sounds great to me.

My bestie called to check on me and asked if I’m ok or already died from loneliness. HAHA. That was really sweet of her. She asked if I made any new friends. But you know what, I didn’t. Not at all. The thing is, I don’t seem to know how to strike a conversion with strangers!? How do people do this? Do people still talk to new people in a bar? It looks so, so easy for some people, but I’m at a lost at how to do it. It’s pretty funny because many people comment I’m a friendly person, and I do talk to people a lot as a huge part of my job. But when it comes to initiating conversion with random people, I just can’t. Not sure why, but I would really love to crack this “art”

Having said that, I still confirm that everyone on Ko Lanta is incredibly nice and friendly, like people in restaurants, bars, and cafes. I did have some small talk with them and most people have smiles on their faces the whole time. They greet their regulars (mostly westerners) with this sincere smile like good friends. I LOVE IT! It’s so nice. This would be one of the reasons for me to come back; nice and friendly people!

I can keep going on and on for every single topic running in my head right now as I have lots of time to reflect on every single thing in life at the moment. Will spare you and call this post an end here. I’m really not ready to go back to the city at all *Sad puppy face*

2 Replies to “Ko Lanta Solo Travel (Part 2): Yoga by the sea”

Leave a comment